19 Comments
May 11, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I wish I could tell my younger self to stop worrying and to trust God. I would also say not to give into peer pressure and that it is ok to stand out.

Expand full comment
May 12, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I'm seeing a lot of recurring themes in everyone's responses here! I think I would tell my younger self that I don't have to "click" with everyone; some people will like you and some people won't, and that's fine. Your worth is not dependent on what another fallible human being thinks of you; your worth is based on how God sees you, and you are of infinite value to Him.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I would tell myself to stop trying to fit in and to speak up for what I actually believe. My gut feelings and my actions were definitely not aligned in my teen years and early twenties.

Expand full comment

I would say what you said Abby! In additon, I woul tell my younger self, "Never give up, and NEVER EVER give up on God!"

Expand full comment
May 12, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

It’s overwhelming to think about the past and all the ways things could have gone differently, so I’ll try to be practical: “Study Spanish longer, or try to really learn any foreign language”

Expand full comment
May 12, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I think I would tell myself to be more bold and matter of fact about moral issues. For a long time I was so empathetic to my friends or family's state of trespass against God's will, and I still am a little bit, but now I see that's not always effective or helpful. Don't get me wrong, I'm chief among sinners, but for example I'm very blunt with my kids because there are loud voices out there who want to see them fail. Sorry that sounds cynical, but ppl who are against God want you to be too. I'm teaching my kids about the armor of God. The time has come to be warriors because Satan prowls the earth seeking to devour.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I think I'd go with some motivational advice that I wish anyone would have given me:

People do listen to what you say when you talk. Try to not be so self-conscious. (And the only way to get over that horrible self-conscious feeling is to put yourself into situations that cause it. It gets easier each time.)

Expand full comment

I wish I could tell my younger self to save more money! And also to slow down and don't rush relationships -- not everyone will like you and you won't get along with everyone. Another important one, prepare for post-college days. After years of strict schedules and being supervised, I was all on my own and still growing up emotionally. Now that I'm a mother of two, I will be sure to share with them all the wisdom I've accrued. I pray they make good decisions and live beautiful, full, successful, colorful, happy lives. ♡

Expand full comment

I am not sure who said this originally, but I would tell myself to throw away my watch and take out my compass, because the direction I am going in is more important than the time it takes to get there!!!

Expand full comment

You can actually do anything you wish, don't let others tell you its bullshit and aim to be the entertainer you always wanted to be.

Expand full comment

Try not to kick anyone during pedicures, I had no idea how ticklish I was before my first one 😂

Expand full comment
deletedMay 11, 2022Liked by Classically Abby
Comment deleted
Expand full comment