6 Comments
Jun 9, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I do believe in soulmates in a way. When I met my husband, I had a sense of "knowing" him before I even knew him. He was very familiar to me from the moment I met him. It was a feeling I'd never had before or in the 10 years since.

However, I believe that to have a good relationship, you need to put the effort in to make it a good relationship. Just because you're with the person you might be "meant for" doesn't mean it will automatically be a good relationship.

Expand full comment
Jun 9, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I'm sure some people are more suited to one another, but by fated design? I don't think so. Soulmates are built with commitment and mutual respect not waited around for.

Expand full comment
Jun 9, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

Not at all. Marriage requires a lot of work and compromise, it is not a magical state you enter into with someone who you believe is "meant" for you.

Expand full comment

I believe Soulmate was made up to give hope to people looking for love. It does take hard work to make a relationship last. It's a nice idea to keep you warm at night, like one day you will meet that one special person and that you just cant give up trying!

Expand full comment

No, I don’t believe in soul mates or that we’re specifically made for one person. That takes a lot of agency out of the equation. I believe there’s a number of men out there who I could have made a relationship work if I chose well and put effort into it. In the end, I chose my husband, and I believe and hope it was a great choice. But he wasn’t “meant” for me. We’re two like minded people with the same values and who want the same things out of life, and who chose to take this journey together.

Expand full comment

Not necessarily. I believe that we’re shaped by our experiences, which shape our beliefs, which then shape our values. Those make us who we are and then we find compatibility with someone based off those factors. The idea of a soulmate seems too fixed to me.

Expand full comment