15 Comments
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I wanted to be a veterinarian, but 2 years into my animal science degree, I realized I was allergic to all furry and fuzzy things on the planet. So, I became a microbiologist, then a science professor, and now a technical writer. Life is funny like that.

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I guess I've been oddly consistent as what I wanted to be, and what I am now are just different facets of the same nerdy coin lol. I wanted to be an engineer since I was about 10. Specifically, I was fascinated by microchips. I taught myself coding on my parents' computer, got my degree in electrical engineering, and went to work in the semiconductor industry. I've since switched over to software testing, but I still write code all day! Software fits my lifestyle better now though, because I work 100 percent from home and don't have to go into a lab/office like I did when I worked in hardware. It has worked out really well since I have kids now.

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

Aw, what a fun question! I was fascinated with dinosaurs when I was a little girl, so I wanted to be a paleontologist :D (Even as an adult, I still think dinosaurs are really cool!)

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

I wanted to be a veterinarian up until I was about 15. I think I realized it would make me too sad! I thought about being a biologist and even majored in biology my first two semesters of college before switching to political science and philosophy. Now I'm in law school!

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Classically Abby

At first I wanted to be a teacher because I loved playing as one, pretending to teach a class on how to read and spell and using my pointer stick. Then I wanted to be a veterinarian because I loved animals (still do). Now? Still not sure 😂

Expand full comment

A dolphin trainer! Then I realized I would have to feed them smelly food! Then an event planner.. I did corporate event planning in my 20s but I worked 15 hours a day and it was too much! Ended up an Executive Assistant. Not as flashy, but better pay and now being at the right company it's going really well.

Expand full comment

Earlier on I had wanted to be a vet like many others! I loved animals so much. Then I was red to become a nurse but couldn’t get over needles and blood! So now I’m an elementary teacher and love it!

Expand full comment

I wanted to be an archaeologist or a doctor. Ended up a humanities professor. I’m not all that happy as such, so I’m considering other things now. Being a stay at home mom is currently at the top of my list.

Expand full comment